Delta Youth Advisory Board
Delta DHS and Delta HP are students who work to inspire their peers to lead healthy, drug-free lifestyles through awareness and prevention activities. It’s great for any student who wants to make a positive difference and for students considering a helping career, such as politics, healthcare, counseling, teaching or community organizing.
Want to know more?
Check out the Delta creed below and contact Delta staff at your high school.
At DHS, contact Mr. Mitran (email@example.com) or Mrs. Micheles (firstname.lastname@example.org).
At HPHS, contact Mrs. Wichner (email@example.com)
We are passionate, motivated, and accepting leaders who seek to bring about change by inspiring our peers with positive drug awareness and building a supportive culture.
We influence others through example. We promote our ideas using inspiration and empowerment of others. We push to see the best version of ourselves.
We honor our family and friends. We value respect, equality, honesty, hard work, and helping others.
Want to connect with a counselor?
Send a text message “224HELP” or “224AYUDAME” to 844-823-LEAD (844-823-5323) and receive an immediate text response from a trained, professional counselor provided by LEAD (Linking Efforts Against Drugs). The response team consists local clinicians who already understand the needs of our communities. Find more information on how this works on Text-a-Tip.
Underage Drinking and Drugged Driving—Zero Tolerance Law
If a driver under age 21, is stopped and issued a citation for a traffic violation, and found to have any trace of alcohol in their system while operating a motor vehicle, his or her driving privileges will be suspended. If the driver refuses to submit to testing, their driving privileges will be suspended.*
First offense—3 month suspension of driving privileges for a BAC of more than .00.
Second offense—1-year suspension of driving privileges for a BAC of more than .00.
In Illinois, any person under age 21 may be charged with a DUI: if he or she has a BAC of .08 or more; more than .05 with additional evidence of impairment; any illegal drugs in his or her system; or other indications of impaired driving.
First DUI conviction: Minimum 2-yr revocation of driving privileges
Second DUI conviction: Minimum 5-year revocation of driving privileges
Illinois law prohibits a person under age 21 from purchasing, accepting, possessing or consuming alcoholic beverages. Infractions result in the suspension or revocation of driving privileges.
*It is at the discretion of the investigating officer and based on test results or a test refusal whether a traffic stop results in a Zero Tolerance or DUI charge or both.
Source: Illinois Liquor Control Commission (www.dontbesorry.org), and Illinois Secretary of State (www.cyberdriveillinois.com).